Listen to RFI News
Expand Player
Listen Download Podcast
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 08/22 13h00 GMT
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 08/21 13h00 GMT
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 08/20 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/05 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/04 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/03 13h00 GMT
To take full advantage of multimedia content, you must have the Flash plugin installed in your browser. To connect, you need to enable cookies in your browser settings. For an optimal navigation, the RFI site is compatible with the following browsers: Internet Explorer 8 and above, Firefox 10 and +, Safari 3+, Chrome 17 and + etc.

Australia overwhelms New Zealand to claim fifth cricket World Cup title

media Australia's wicket keeper Brad Haddin holds the Cricket World Cup trophy alongside his team mates, Melbourne Cricket Ground, 29 March 2015. Photo: Reuters/Hamish Blair

No Shane Warne in Australia’s team, but their bowlers secured a fifth World Cup for their country by beating New Zealand by seven wickets on Sunday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in front of a 93,000-strong crowd.

The Kiwis were all out for 183 after 45 overs. Australia replied with 186 for 3 in just 33.1 overs.

New Zealand's hopes of pulling off what would have been a famous win suffered a massive blow when skipper Brendon McCullum was bowled out by Mitchell Starc after just three minutes in the first over of the day.

The Kiwis recovered with a brilliant 83 from Grant Elliott and a slower 40 from Ross Taylor. But they then collapsed, with the loss of their last seven wickets for 33 runs to be all out for 183 in 45 overs.

Australia captain Michael Clarke, who made 74 off 72 balls, dedicated Sunday's victory to batsman Phillip Hughes, his close friend who died after being hit on the head by a bouncer last year in a first-class match.

Australia fast-bowling all-rounder James Faulkner was named man-of-the-match. The 24-year-old finished with figures of three for 36 from nine overs.

But it was his team-mate, fast bowler Mitchell Starc, who won the player of the tournament award. He reached a tally of 22 wickets during the competition.

Australia has won four of the last five World Cups - their only defeat going as far back as 1992.

Sorry but the period of time connection to the operation is exceeded.