Listen to RFI News
Expand Player
Listen Download Podcast
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 10/16 13h00 GMT
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 10/15 13h00 GMT
  • Paris Live PM 1300 - 1400 GMT
    News bulletin 10/14 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/05 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/04 13h00 GMT
  • 13h00 - 14h00 GMT
    News bulletin 04/03 13h00 GMT
To take full advantage of multimedia content, you must have the Flash plugin installed in your browser. To connect, you need to enable cookies in your browser settings. For an optimal navigation, the RFI site is compatible with the following browsers: Internet Explorer 8 and above, Firefox 10 and +, Safari 3+, Chrome 17 and + etc.

Doncic's Slovenia handed Olympic qualifying chance

media Luka Doncic helped Slovenia beat Serbia in the 2017 European final AFP/File

NBA rookie of the year Luka Doncic could still go to the 2020 Olympics after Slovenia on Thursday secured one of the final places in the qualifying tournaments scheduled for next June.

Doncic did not play in qualification for the 2019 World Cup and the 2017 European champions failed to make the tournament in China.

Seven nations secured Olympic berths at the World Cup, joining hosts Japan.

The four remaining places will be decided in a 24-team tournament scheduled for June 23-28 next year.

Two-thirds of the qualifying tournament slots had already been allocated to the highest-ranked sides not already qualified for Tokyo.

The final eight spots were allocated to the two highest-ranked nations in each of basketball's four global regions when the governing body of world basketball (FIBA) announced its latest rankings on Thursday.

Slovenia and Croatia secured the two European spots. China and Korea took the two Asian places. They were joined by Angola and Senegal from Africa and Mexico and Uruguay from the Americas.

Olympics men's basketball tournament (12 teams)

Already qualified (8): Japan (hosts), Spain, France, USA, Argentina, Nigeria, Australia, Iran

In final qualifying tournament (24): Angola, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, Korea, Lithuania, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, Venezuela

Sorry but the period of time connection to the operation is exceeded.